Lean Mean Bison Burgers

Hi there! Long time no talk, er blog. Truthfully, the thought of writing up a coherent, engaging, and educational post after a long day of work has just sounded like, well, more hard work. But, tonight I made a recipe that I just HAD to share with you guys. I’m in the process of moving so I am getting creative with cleaning out the food in my freezer. I had a pound of ground bison in there along with a package of mushrooms in my fridge (that I had high hopes of using in another recipe but never did).

Ironically, I developed a flyer at work yesterday titled “10 Creative Ways to Get More Fruits & Vegetables”. One of my tips was to add chopped mushrooms to your ground beef recipes. This not only sneaks in an extra serving of veggies (which you won’t taste, I swear!), but also saves you money! Adding mushrooms doubles the amount you get from this recipe. So, instead of getting 4 burgers from 1 lb. of meat, you get 8! This trick can not only be used for burgers, but any recipe calling from ground beef like tacos, sloppy joes, etc.

I want to end by once again emphasizing that YOU WILL NOT TASTE THE MUSHROOMS AT ALL! Seriously, even the die-hard meat eater won’t notice. Just don’t tell them, or they’ll swear they will because they’re stubborn ;).

 

Lean Mean Bison Burgers

Serves 8

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground bison OR lean ground beef/turkey*

8 oz. mushrooms

2 Tbs. favorite burger seasoning (I like Canadian steak seasoning)

Directions:

Preheat a large skillet or grill, lightly greasing with non-stick spray to prevent the burgers from sticking if necessary. Place mushrooms in a food processor and pulse until they become fine, little pieces. Combine mushrooms with bison and seasoning. Place onto heat and cook until desired doneness is reached. Serve with your favorite toppings.

*”Lean” meat is classified as 92% or higher

FullSizeRender-5

Leave a Reply

