WIAW #6 + Day in the Life of a Wellness Dietitian

Hi girls & guys! Today I am showcasing my eats per usual for WIAW, but also wanted to give you a glimpse into the life of a Wellness Dietitian (AKA, what I do for a living). Many people don’t really understand what Dietitian’s do, so I thought this might be interesting to a lot of you. My days vary greatly, and I currently split my time between wellness and clinical (hospital) days, but today was entirely dedicated to the “wellness” portion of my job so it’s a good example to show you.

As always, remember that the point of WIAW is not to compare your eats to mine, but to gain meal ideas and recipe inspiration. Plus, it’s always fun to get a glimpse into the lives of the bloggers you follow! See what everyone else is eating here and check out more of my own eats here.

So, here we go!

6am-An oatmeal raisin cookie energy bite as a little pre-workout snack

I got to “sleep in” a bit today (usually I need to be up and at the gym by 5:30a if I want to get a workout in), since I didn’t have to be in Findlay until 8:45a today for the health fair I was participating in. I did a 50 minute power yoga podcast at home to get my workout in for the day. Especially with the warmer weather, I like to get my workout done in the morning before work so I can enjoy the sun and time with friends after work. Plus, I’m just plain tired after work and want to just relax and veg out!

IMG_1989

7:30am-Breakfast of fudgey peanut butter cup overnight oats

I did a little recipe experimentation and I’m so glad I did! A healthy, chocolatey concoction was born that filled me up and tasted AMAZING. Recipe coming soon!

IMG_1991

11:54am-“Vegetarian” meatballs + Zoodles + g-free bread

Like I mentioned above, I set up a booth at the local YMCA for their healthy aging expo. This event was geared towards seniors and there were tons of booths providing educational materials, free health scans and more for those 65+. My booth was stocked with free healthy eating cookbooks, spatulas, samples of trail mix and a variety of handouts including ones on portion control, label reading and general healthy eating. I tried my hardest to wait until noon to dig into my lunch, buuuuut couldn’t hence the random time! I packed leftover zucchini noodles (zoodles) with another winning kitchen experiment, vegetarian meatballs made with tempeh (this recipe coming soon as well!), and a piece of bread on the side because YOU NEED YOUR CARBS!!! I was so hungry that I forgot to take a picture until I was almost done! Blogger fail.

IMG_1995IMG_1998

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4pm-Yogurt w/crumbled chocolate peanut butter energy bite (courtesy of my friend)

After the health fair ended, I dropped off the leftover materials to my company’s main PR office and then headed back to my office, which is located in the hospital. I had a conference call shortly after to brainstorm ideas for a 5K event I am going to have a booth at in July and then finished up some handouts for a cooking demo I am doing in a couple weeks. After sending and responding to some emails, I left around 3:30pm to go to the grocery store to price check some items for that same cooking demo. The theme is healthy cooking on a budget so I created a sample menu plan and a grocery list with prices to give participants. When I got home, I finally chowed down on my snack.

IMG_2001

7pm-Blue cheese burger with homemade baked potato “fries” + wine

A good old-fashioned burger and fries sounded just perfect tonight so that’s what I had! I made the fries by slicing and coating a large potato with olive oil and Cajun seasoning then baking them in the oven at 425O for 20-25 minutes. Easy peasy! While cooking, I had a cold glass of Sauvignon Blanc that also hit the spot.

IMG_2002IMG_2003

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8pm-Another oatmeal raisin cookie bite  

Because I just needed a little something sweet to conclude the day.

IMG_1748

So there you have it, a typical day in the life of a Wellness Dietitian. Like I said, my days vary greatly, which is one thing I love about my job. I don’t just sit in my office at a computer all day long, I’m out and about making a difference in the community and no day is the same!

 

Leave a Reply

