24 years, 24 Questions: An About Me Survey

 

1.) What’s your whole name?

Taylor Elizabeth Lechner

2.) Are you named after anyone?

Nope. Despite it sounding like I was named after Elizabeth Taylor, this is not the case. My parents just liked the name.

3.) Do you have any siblings?

Yes, I have one younger sister. We are 16 months apart and she currently lives in Japan!

253046_423221627726132_979498231_n

4.) Where did you grow up?

Fort Wayne, Indiana.

5.) Three words to describe yourself?

Organized, caring and passionate

6.) What activities did you do in high school?

Nada! No sports, no clubs, nothing. I was pretty shy and wasn’t into sports which surprises a lot of people. My shyness definitely went away after I went to college.

7.) Where did you go to college?

Purdue University for undergraduate and I’m working on my masters at Bowling Green State University in Ohio at the moment. Just a couple more months until I’m done!! Hallelujah.

8.) What activities did you do in college?

I worked in a dietetics lab as a freshman/sophomore for one of my professors to get experience…it solidified that I never want to do research for a living. Getting up at 6am and trudging through the snow to collect urine samples was not my cup of tea. It was great experience though!

I joined a sorority my sophomore year and was heavily involved in that. I was on the philanthropy committee and standards board and was Vice President and President during my junior and senior years.

I started teaching spinning classes as junior and continued up until I moved. Most notable, I was Student Wellness Coordinator and a cooking instructor at Purdue’s CoRec starting my Junior year as well. I helped find and develop recipes, ran special events and lead demonstrations myself. It was the most fun job I’ve EVER had and I hope to get a similar one during my career as a dietitian.

1229824_10151647271272358_1653885723_n1920065_10152227516954259_1925209866_n

 

9.) What did you study in college?

Dietetics. I also have a dual minor in psychology and organizational leadership & supervision (OLS). I knew I wanted to have the psych minor all along, but took up OLS the last semester before graduating. I had all my required course work done and I needed more credits to be considered a full time student! My advisor said she had never seen that happen before! Summer classes for the win.

10.) What was your first job?

I worked in the concessions stand at a movie theatre. Always came home smelling like butter.

11.) What kind of music do you like?

Anything upbeat that you can workout or dance to! I love remixes and mashups and use them a lot in my spin classes. I’m constantly listening to music to add to my playlists.

12.) What’s one hobby that you’d like to take up?

Hmm, I don’t know about a “hobby” per se, but I would love to get certified to teach a new exercise format, specifically Body Pump.

13.) If you didn’t choose your current profession, what would you be?

A psychologist/counselor. I LOVE talking to people and helping them sort out their problems. I’m the one all my friends come to talk to and I’m very good at reading people’s emotions and empathizing with them.

14.) What’s the biggest project on your to-do list right now?

My master’s manuscript (a.k.a. my research paper).

15.) Do you have any irrational fears?

I’m really terrified of tornados. I watched the movie Twister at a friends house when I was in kindergarten (rebelling against my mom who wouldn’t let me watch it as home) and have been scared of them ever since. I’m also scared of sharks.

16.) Favorite drink?

For everyday, I would say water. Otherwise, definitely wine followed by margaritas.

17.) Favorite food?

Peanut butter.

12813976_964918236889799_7283144252813736643_n

18.) Have you ever traveled outside the country?

Yep! I’ve been to Mexico; St. Martin; Haiti; Puerto Rico and Quebec; Canada.

12507255_941696252545331_9075280004800171882_n

19.) Place you want to travel to?

France and Italy!

20.) Favorite workout?

At the moment, power vinyasa yoga. I’ve been really sore lately and it’s a great combination of strength and stretching.

IMG_0664

21.) Least favorite workout?

Anything that involves dancing like Zumba, WERQ, cardio hip-hop, etc. I can’t follow and just end up flailing around.

22.) Do you speak any other languages?

No. Took Spanish in high school but forget all of it.

23.) Dream job?

Wellness dietitian at a university or corporate gym OR dietitian at an eating disorder clinic.

24.) What would your last meal be (gotta end on a food question of course)?

Right now, a good cheeseburger and fries followed by a large piece of triple chocolate cheesecake with lots of whipped cream and ice cream!

Leave a Reply

