Butternut Squash Goat Cheese Tart

This recipe was inspired after browsing through my various Pinterest boards. If your like me, you pin a ton of stuff, but rarely make use of what you pin. However, one day while meal prepping for the week, I couldn’t decide what I wanted to make so I turned to a recipe I recently pinned. I tweaked it to my liking (which I do the majority of the time) to create my own unique, version. The end result is a sumptuous vegetarian entrée, which looks and sounds a lot fancier than it really is.

Originally, I wasn’t sure if this would fill me up, but when paired with a salad, it held me over for a good 3+ hours! It must be from all the filling fiber in the squash and the additional protein from the milk, cheese, and egg. If you are unfamiliar with butternut squash, the trickiest part of this recipe is peeling and cubing it. Here is a great step-by-step slideshow to help you.

Butternut Squash Goat Cheese Tart

Serves 6

Ingredients:
1 pre-made pie crust, thawed (I use Pillsbury)
1-1lb butternut squash, peeled and cubed
2 T olive oil, divided
1 large yellow onion, thinly sliced
4 large eggs
2/3 C milk
¼ tsp. ground nutmeg
1 T fresh or 1 tsp. dried rosemary
4 oz. goat cheese, crumbled
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
Toss the butternut squash cubes with 1 ½ T olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast them in a single layer on a cookie sheet for 20 minutes, stirring halfway through.
Heat remaining ½ T olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add sliced onions and a pinch more of salt and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft and golden, about 20 minutes. Add fresh or dried rosemary and nutmeg.
Place premade pie crust in a greased, 9-inch pie pan. Layer the roasted butternut squash on the bottom of the pan, then sprinkle with caramelized onions and goat cheese on top. Whisk together eggs and milk and pour over tart.
Decrease the oven heat to 375 degrees F and bake for 45-55 minutes until tart is puffed up and eggs are fully cooked. Serve warm with a simple salad.

IMG_0839

Leave a Reply

